How many Nixons is the Kazakhstan tungsten deal?
On November 6, 2025, at a summit in Washington with the leaders of the five Central Asian states, the administration announced a joint venture to develop the largest known undeveloped tungsten resource on earth. A US company took 70% of two deposits in central Kazakhstan. Kazakhstan’s state mining company took 30%. Two federal credit agencies subsequently advanced preliminary approvals worth up to $1.6 billion to support it.
Six days before that announcement, investors operating through a firm part-owned by the president’s two adult sons acquired a 20% stake in a corporate entity tied to the project. That fact did not become public until investigative reporting surfaced it five months later.
Every input below cites a public record listed at the end of this page. The score is an opinion, produced by applying the published methodology to those records. The inputs are all listed and open to dispute.
The facts on record
The asset. The Northern Katpar and Upper Kairakty deposits are estimated to hold 1.4 million tonnes of tungsten trioxide. Northern Katpar is projected to produce 5,000 tonnes of tungsten a year and Upper Kairakty 7,000 tonnes. Total project cost is put at $1.1 billion. Tungsten is on the US critical minerals list and China has dominated its supply for decades. The strategic case for the project is real and is not in dispute here.
The deal. Cove Capital LLC entered a joint venture with Tau-Ken Samruk, Kazakhstan’s national mining company, splitting the project 70/30 in the US company’s favor. The venture was announced at the November 2025 C5+1 summit and the financial close was completed in the spring of 2026. Feasibility studies were scheduled to begin in the summer of 2026 and to run roughly 18 months. Therefore, no ore has been mined and no revenue has been earned.
The public money. The administration approved preliminary applications for as much as $1.6 billion in federal financing for the US company. The first is a letter of interest from the Export-Import Bank to lend up to $900 million. The second is interest from the US International Development Finance Corporation of up to $700 million. Senator Elizabeth Warren’s July 2026 letter puts the total federal assistance sought at roughly $2 billion across EXIM, the DFC, and the Department of Defense. These are preliminary approvals and letters of interest, not disbursed funds.
The private stake. According to reporting on the New York Times investigation published June 28, 2026, investors participating through a structure involving Dominari Securities, a firm part-owned by Donald Trump Jr. and Eric Trump, acquired a 20% stake in a corporate entity linked to the project on October 31, 2025. The US-Kazakhstan agreement was signed six days later. In the same period, October 2025, Cantor Fitzgerald, the firm controlled by Commerce Secretary Howard Lutnick before he took office and now associated with his sons, raised $210 million connected to the venture.
The negotiation. The Elizabeth Warren letter records that on September 22, 2025, Kazakhstan’s president told the president of the United States of a planned grant of tungsten mining rights. Reporting on the Times investigation places Commerce Secretary Lutnick in a late-September meeting with President Tokayev at a New York hotel, with the president joining by telephone. The private stake was acquired after that period of negotiation and before the public announcement. The Nixon Index does not assert that the investors acted on non-public information. It scores the documented sequence of dates, nothing further.
The corporate history. The Trump sons’ investment in Skyline Builders Group, the Nasdaq-listed company that later merged with Cove Kaz Capital Group to form Kaz Resources, is reported to date to August 2024, before the current term began, with the position expanded in October 2025. The merger completed on April 30, 2026. This history is the strongest fact in the subjects’ favor and is weighed below.
The pattern. Federal filings reviewed in the Times investigation link one or both families to 14 companies working with the federal government on critical-minerals deals. Federal support provided or under consideration across those companies exceeds $8.9 billion. This ruling scores the Kazakhstan project only. The wider pattern is noted because it bears on whether this case is an isolated event.
The responses. The White House said the only special interest guiding the administration’s decision-making is the best interest of the American people. A spokesperson for Donald Trump Jr. said he does not interface with the federal government on behalf of any company he invests in or advises. Eric Trump did not comment. The company’s position is that project discussions predated the president’s return to office and reflect long-term strategic mineral sourcing. Two senators, Warren and Ossoff, have publicly demanded records. No court or inspector general has ruled on any of it.
The ruling, factor by factor
F1 · Benefit Magnitude (8/10, ×3.0). The methodology reserves the ceiling for benefits that are effectively unbounded, and names equity stakes as the type case. This is an equity stake in a $1.1 billion project, so in kind it belongs at the top of the scale. What holds it to 8 is that the benefit is almost entirely unrealized:
- The reported price paid for a 20% interest was $20 million
- The federal money is preliminary rather than disbursed
- Feasibility work will not conclude before late 2027
- A tungsten deposit that never reaches production is worth nothing.
An unbounded instrument on an unproven asset scores 8. Production at the projected rates would move this to 10.
F2 · Personal Accrual (9/10, ×2.5). The benefit runs to the officeholder’s immediate family through a firm they part-own, in a company whose financing was advanced by the officeholder’s own administration. That is close to the maximum this factor measures. It is not a 10 because the holders are adult children who are legally separate persons, and the president is not reported to hold a direct interest.
F3 · Source Conflict (9/10, ×2.0). There are two conflicted sources stacked on one transaction. The counterparty is a foreign state with active interests before the US government, including trade, security cooperation, and its own accession to US-brokered diplomatic agreements. The financier is the US government itself, through two credit agencies answering to the executive branch. A private party enriched by a foreign state is one conflict. A private party enriched by the administration they are related to is another. Both are documented here.
F4 · Process Integrity (8/10, ×1.5). No divestment, recusal, blind trust, or ethics wall has been documented for any part of this. Two federal credit agencies advanced up to $1.6 billion in preliminary approvals to a company in which the president’s sons held an interest, and the record shows no screen between the two facts. The reason this is 8 rather than 10 is uncomfortable but material: the federal criminal conflict-of-interest statute reaches the officeholder’s own financial interests, and holdings by adult children generally fall outside it. There may be no violation to find. A process that produces this result lawfully is a finding about the process. Documented recusal by the president from the financing decisions would move this to 3 or 4.
F5 · Concealment (6/10, ×1.0). The underlying corporate steps were visible in securities filings at the time, but the family’s interest was not disclosed alongside the deal it stood to benefit from. The Trump family investment reached the public through Financial Times and New York Times reporting eight months after the stake was taken. The score is 6 rather than 9 because nothing appears to have been actively denied or destroyed, and the filings that revealed it were filings the participants themselves made. Non-disclosure is not a cover-up. It is also not disclosure.
The receipt
(8×3.0) + (9×2.5) + (9×2.0) + (8×1.5) + (6×1.0) = 83 Nixons
What would change the score
The methodology commits us to revising rulings as the record develops. This score moves if: the feasibility studies fail or the project is abandoned (F1 falls, total drops to roughly 71); the president or his sons divest, or a documented recusal from the financing decisions emerges (F2 and F4 fall); the EXIM and DFC letters of interest convert to disbursed loans (F1 rises); an inspector general, court, or congressional committee establishes that non-public information moved between the negotiation and the October 31 purchase (F3, F4, and F5 all rise sharply, and this becomes a materially different case); or documents show the stake was disclosed to agency decision-makers at the time (F5 falls). Revisions get their own entries. The math stays public either way.
The scoring
Sources
- Reuters via Yahoo Finance — Cove Kaz, Tau-Ken Samruk partner on Kazakhstan tungsten project
- Eurasianet — American mining entity touted by Trump seals deal with Kazakhstan
- Eurasianet — American tungsten mining operation in Kazakhstan looks to get started this summer
- MINING.COM — Trump sons invested in US group developing $1.1B tungsten project in Kazakhstan (April 30, 2026)
- OilPrice.com — Trump-Linked Tungsten Deal in Kazakhstan Moves Forward (May 7, 2026)
- ThePrint — NYT reports conflict of interest in Trump's critical mineral deal with Kazakhstan for tungsten (June 30, 2026), summarizing the New York Times investigation of June 28, 2026
- U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs — Warren Questions Agency Heads Following Reports of Trump Family Ties to a $2 Billion Federal Assistance Package for Kazakhstan Mining Deal (July 8, 2026)
- Cato Institute — A Familiar Pattern: White House Self-Dealing in US Trade & Investment Policy